Categories
Happiness Challenge Health Mental health Story Time

Friendship Shouldn’t Be Hard Work – Story Time

Photo: Beautiful happy group of friends in India who shared their joy with me in a photo, taken in 2012! I hope they are still great friends!

Day 22 of our happiness challenge today and I’m feeling great. How are you getting on? The changes that are serving me the most are working out, meditating/breathwork/mindfulness, staying off social media for the most part, using my phone far less, expressing gratitude, being outside as much as possible, sitting under trees and grounding by having bare foot on the earth, practicing accepting myself as I am, releasing some expectations I put on myself and choosing to trust in the process of my life.

One week to go and since we already hit the 21 day mark it should be easy peasy 😉 You got this! Today’s blog is a bit difference as I reflected on a life lesson I want to share with you. Let me know your thoughts in the comments and if you have had an experience of your own please share with me how you learned it 🙂

Here is the challenge if you want to join us for the final week.

Lesson: Do not waste any of your life defending your character. You know who you are and your intentions. Those who are meant to be in your life do too and won’t be making you jump through hoops to prove yourself. Call you out on your BS yes, but question who you are, nope.

How I learned it (Story Time): I once had a group of friends for over a decade of my life and the first time a situation like this arose, I was about 13, one of the girls who I spent most of my time with made up lies about my character and she successfully told our whole group of friends, boys and girls, to ignore me and that they did, completely ending their friendship with me, some for months, after knowing me already for about 3-4 years. I went out of my way be accepted again, even making mix tapes of the latest hits, remember those 😉

You would think ok, so you were 13, children, life happens right. Well, the exact same thing happened about 7 years later, except this time different lies and a far darker situation. It was the same girl, who at this stage was a 23 year old woman. The timing was particularly bad this time as I was in the thick of dealing with PTSD and dealing with the darkness and danger that comes with that.

Somehow, through universal protection for sure, I was able to keep my feet firmly on the ground in my decision to not spend one minute defending who I am or trying to prove the lies were not true. After all, all my ‘besties’ knew me for over a decade at this stage and this type of situation had already happened. I decided that those who know and accept who I truly am and want to stick around, I embrace with open arms, and the rest I am ready to let go. I did not realise I was about to set myself free. Free from chasing the need to be liked, free from clutching on to friendships that we want to last forever simply because we grew up together, free to take more steps into becoming who I am meant to be and with the time to spend it with those who are meant to be a part of that journey.

You DO NOT need people in your life that will believe lies about you and treat you accordingly. Relationships should be built on trust, love and respect, not fear, judgement and pain. Release those who hinder your light, those who put you down and fill you with doubts. You are worthy of abundant joy and connection.

Beautiful siblings enjoying a beach during monsoon season in Goa, India

This event changed my life forever. I finally transitioned from my cocoon to becoming fully winged. Finally, free to choose who I will spend my time with without external turbulence. Life is finite and precious. Spend it with people who fill your cup. Be around others that lift you up and that you can share abundant love and personal growth with.

Leave a comment